clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 invites 4 new members

BYU, Cincinnati, Houston, UCF receive invitations.

Okay, we’ll be nice to Bob for one day.
Okay, we’ll be nice to Bob for one day.
Photo by Cooper Neill/Getty Images

The Big 12 has officially invited Brigham Young University, the University of Central Florida, the University of Cincinnati, and the University of Houston for full conference membership, the conference office announced Friday morning.

BYU currently is independent in football and a member of the West Coast Conference for most other sports. Cincinnati, Houston, and UCF have all been full members of the American Athletic Conference since its inception in 2013.

The announcement says the vote to invite the four new members was unanimous by the eight remaining Big 12 members following Oklahoma and Texas’ decisions to leave the conference for the SEC.

All that remains to add the new members is for their institutional boards to accept the invitation, which is considered a mere formality at this point in light of the scheduled video conferences with Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby, Big 12 Board Chairman and Texas Tech President Lawrence Schovanec, and the respective schools later today. Those video conferences will be at (all times CDT):

  • 11 a.m. — Houston
  • 11:30 a.m. — BYU
  • 2:45 p.m. — UCF
  • 3:30 p.m. — Cincinnati