clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Darren Sproles elected to 2021 class of College Football Hall of Fame

And he’s going in alongside Big Game Bob.

Sooner Trigger Warning
Sooner Trigger Warning
Photo by Brian Bahr/Getty Images

The College Football Hall of Fame has announced its slate of inductees for the Class of 2021, and there is much rejoicing in Manhappiness as Kansas State Wildcats legend Darren Sproles pretty much headlines the list.

Sproles, who starred at K-State from 2001-2004 before embarking on a 15-year NFL career which saw him amass over 19,000 all-purpose yards, was a Heisman finalist in 2003. That year, he led the charge in K-State’s 35-7 destruction of Oklahoma in the Big 12 Championship Game, racking up over 300 yards of offense. He is K-State’s all-time leading rusher with 4,979 yards, and at the end of his Wildcat career he ranked 11th all-time nationally and 6th all-time in all-purpose yards.

He’ll be joined in the Class of 2021 by the head coach of that very same Oklahoma team, former K-State assistant Bob Stoops. Also getting the call today:

  • North Carolina OL Harris Barton, a 12-year NFL veteran who won three Super Bowls with the 49ers
  • Arizona State DB David Fulcher, a three-time Pro Bowler with Cincinnati
  • Miami LB Dan Morgan
  • USC QB Carson Palmer, who lost twice to the Wildcats before making three Pro Bowls with Cincinnati and Arizona
  • Eastern Illinois QB Tony Romo, noted televison analyst
  • Texas DT Kenneth Sims, who played for New England when they were mostly terrible
  • Clemson RB/KR C.J. Spiller, who played one game for the Chiefs in 2017
  • Notre Dame OT Aaron Taylor, winner of a Super Bowl with Green Bay in 1997
  • Iowa DE Andre Tippett, who also played for New England alongside Sims for eight years
  • Tennessee LB Al Wilson, a five-time Pro Bowler for the Broncos
  • Florida A&M Coach Rudy Hubbard, responsible for the only FCS championship won by an HBCU in 1978

The class will be inducted on December 7 at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner, alongside the 2020 class whose event was cancelled due to COVID.