clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Slate: Tuesday was a good day in Wildcatland

Awards all around and some very good news for the football team.

MANHATTAN, KANSAS - Kansas State midfielder Brookelynn Entz (8) goes up for a header as midfielder Christina Baxter (19) looks on during K-State’s 2-0 victory over Omaha on August 30, 2017.
Adam Stewart/Special to Bring on the Cats


The big news yesterday came in the form of an announcement from a current Wildcat, as Jahron McPherson has decided to use his extra season of eligibility to come back to Manhattan and play one more season for Kansas State. Coupled with the news of Skylar Thompson and Bronson Massie also deciding to return, this is very positive news for a program that struggled down the stretch. Most importantly, these three men return a wealth of leadership to a young locker room, and help bring the “depth gap” on young units.


Senior midfielder Brookelynn Entz was named the 2020 Big 12 Soccer co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the league’s coaches, as announced Tuesday. Entz is a stud in the classroom and on the pitch, owning or tying for 28 career, single season, or single match school records while maintaining a 4.0 GPA while majoring in psychology.

Deuce Vaughn has added yet another accolade to his growing collection, as he was named a First Team Freshman All-American by The Athletic, the publication announced on Tuesday. Vaughn owns four K-State freshman records, and is currently one of just two players in the nation to have 600 or more rushing yards and 400 or more receiving yards this season (the other being Clemson senior running back Travis Etienne; if you don’t know, ask Drew about that guy).

Last but certainly not least, sophomore LHP Jordan Wicks was named to the 2021 Collegiate Baseball Preseason All-America Third Team, that publication announced Tuesday. Wicks was the 2019 Big 12 Freshman of the Year, and becomes the program’s fourth preseason All-America recognition by Collegiate Baseball, and the first since 2014 when both Ross Kivett (1st team) and Jake Matthys (3rd team) were so honored.