clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Highlights from Ward Haylett Invitational

Pringle is now officially with the Kansas City Chiefs.

Track and Field: NCAA Indoor Championships Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

So...about the BatCats. Sigh.

The baseball team played much better in this second game against Oklahoma, with sophomore pitcher Jared Marolf pitching the BatCats’ first complete game of the season. But alas, it wasn’t quite enough, as Kansas State lost the game 2-0 and the series. This was the eighth shutout of the season for the BatCats, and the second back-to-back shutout loss.

Kansas State is now 3-17 in the Big 12. If you’re keeping track, that’s good for last place in the conference.

Elsewhere, the seniors on the track team were lighting it up at the Ward Haylett Invitational.

In her final race in Manhattan, senior A’Keyla Mitchell not only won the women’s 200m, but also set a new meet record of 23.42 in the event. Fellow seniors Morgan Wedekind and Kayla Doll took first and second in the women’s 1500m, and their feat was matched by Colton Donahue and Sam Oxandale in the men’s event.

In the women’s javelin, Kansas State went 1-2-3-4, with Nina Schultz taking first, and teammates Ariel Okorie, Lauren Taubert, and Morgan Coffman finishing right behind her. Wurrie Njadoe won the women’s long jump with Okorie taking second there as well.

Other winners included Ethan Powell (5000m), Tom Pyle (long jump), Gabby Lavington (women’s shot put), Kyle Mitchell (men’s shot put), Jullane Walker (100m), Ranae McKenzie (400H), and Isaac Smallwood (triple jump).

Next up, the teams head to the Big 12 Championships in Waco starting on Friday May 11. The Kansas State women are the reigning Big 12 outdoor champions.

And finally, a football note of sorts. Byron Pringle and the Kansas City Chiefs have made it official. Pringle signed on as an undrafted free agent, and will be the first Kansas State wide receiver in the Chiefs’ organization since some guy named Kevin Lockett was drafted by Kansas City back in 1997.