clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BatCats out of Big 12 Championship

A pair of wins by Oklahoma State keep Kansas State out of post-season

That’s a wrap.


There is no joy in Mudville.

Despite taking the series against Baylor yesterday, Kansas State will find itself on the outside looking in for the Big 12 Championship this season.

Weather had wreaked havoc on the Bedlam series between Oklahoma and Oklahoma State, shortening the series to just two games. Unfortunately for the BatCats, the Cowboys rallied to win both games against the Sooners to earn the coveted final spot in the conference field (John Helsley, The Oklahoman).

So what now? Well, a long off-season of introspection awaits Kansas State. We are now four years removed from a Big 12 title, a moment we all believed was the harbinger of things to come, but now seems like a single data point, the probable high water mark for this program.

Then again, we’ve also hit rock bottom now. The only way to go is up, right?


Kansas State’s track and field athletes are the only Wildcats still in competition this season. Several athletes will be in contention at the NCAA Outdoor West Preliminaries. The prelims run from May 25th to May 27th and will be hosted by the University of Kentucky in Lexington.

Nina Schultz has already qualified for the heptathlon finals, and will not participate in the West prelims.

The remaining women will participate in a number of events, including the 200m (A’Keyla Mitchell), the 3000m steeplechase (Morgan Wedekind, Kayla Doll), the 100m hurdles (Ariel Okorie), 400m hurdles (Ranae McKenzie), the 4x100 and 4x400 relays, high jump (Rhizlane Siba, Shanae McKenzie), long jump (Wurrie Njadoe, Zanre van der Merwe, Claudette Allen), triple jump (Shardia Lawrence, Konstantina Romaiou), shot put (Jess St. John), discus (Shadae Lawrence), hammer throw (Janeé Kassanavoid, Helene Ingvaldsen), and javelin (Ally Zerbe, Haley Pitko).

On the men’s side, Kansas State will appear in the following events: 200m (Terrell Smith), 800m (Kain Ellis), high jump (Christoff Bryan, Miles Bearden), pole vault (Zack Supple), triple jump (Javier Lowe), shot put (Brett Neelly), and hammer throw (Mitch Dixon, Kyle Smith, and Brady Grunder).

Good luck, Wildcats!