clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

K-State Slate: 1.10.15 - Bring on the Sooners

The men's and women's basketball teams are in action this weekend, with the men tipping off tonight.

Brendan Maloney-USA TODAY Sports

The big news yesterday was Bill Snyder's election to the College Football Hall of Fame.

The big news today is Kansas State traveling to Norman to take on #16 Oklahoma. Tip off is at 6 PM, and Jon Morse's How to Watch post is chock full of all the relevant game information.

In connection with the game, TheBigE had a fireside chat Q&A with our Sooner cousins at Crimson & Cream Machine, specifically Rich DeCray. He also returned the favor, answering questions for CCM's Behind Enemy Lines feature.

In other basketball news, Kellis Robinett (Kansas City Star) riffs on Bruce Weber and fan frustration with the team in his K-State Q&A.

The women's basketball team is also in action this weekend, as they host Kansas for the 110th episode of that long-running soap opera, the Sunflower Showdown, on Sunday.

As an aside, did you all know that the Sunflower Showdown (in all sports) has an official corporate sponsor, i.e. Dillon's? That seems both wrong and a sign that this rivalry has arrived, and after only a century too!

There's a really important football game on today: the FCS National Championship game, i.e. the culmination of an actual, non-controversial football playoff season. North Dakota State will try to become the first team in the upper divisions of college football to win four straight championships, and Illinois State will try to stop them. Kickoff is at noon CT, and once again, Morse comes to your rescue with all the relevant details in this handy How to Watch post.

There's also another football game today: the 2015 Medal of Honor Bowl, which kicks off at 1:30 CT, and will feature three Kansas State players, namely Jake Waters, Curry Sexton, and Ryan Mueller. You can catch the game on the NBC Sports Network.

Freshman sprinter A'Keyla Mitchell, won the 200 m event and set a new school record in the process at the Bill Easton Classic in Lawrence. The previous school record was set in 1991. This is the third school record Mitchell has broken in as many tries, as she set the 60 m record last month, and helped the 4x400 squad set a school record as well.

Mitchell was the headliner of a successful campaign for the whole team, which finished with 11 first-place finishes and four Top 10 marks among a series of other personal bests.

Joining Mitchell in the winner's circle were Terrell Smith (200 m), Carlos Rodriguez (60 m), Sonia Gaskin (600 yards), the women's 4x400 team, Christopher Campbell (400 m), Kain Ellis (800 m), Marija Stambolic (800 m), Mary Frances Donnelly (1000 m), Sara Savatovic (hammer throw), and Akela Jones (high jump).