clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

K-State football has 5 Big 12 1st-teamers

Spoiler Alert: D.J. Reed is good at football.

NCAA Football: West Virginia at Kansas State Scott Sewell-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 Conference announced all-conference honors Thursday afternoon, and 5 Wildcats earned first-team recognition:

  1. Offensive lineman Dalton Risner
  2. Placekicker Matthew McCrane
  3. Defensive lineman Will Geary
  4. Kick/punt returner D.J. Reed
  5. Defensive back D.J. Reed

Risner and Reed (the defensive back, not the return specialist) were repeat first-teamers.

The Wildcats also placed three players on the second team: fullback Winston Dimel, defensive lineman Reggie Walker, and punter Nick Walsh.

Defensive lineman Trey Dishon, linebackers Jayd Kirby and Trent Tanking, defensive back Duke Shelley, and kick/punt returner Byron Pringle received honorable mention, as well. In addition, Geary received votes for Defensive Lineman of the Year, Reed received votes for Special Teams Player of the Year, and quarterback Skylar Thompson received votes for Offensive Freshman of the Year.

Elsewhere in the Big 12

Oklahoma led the conference with six first-team and six second-team selections. Oklahoma State had six and nine, TCU six and one, Texas four and zero, Iowa State three and five, West Virginia one and five, Kansas one and three, Texas Tech zero and four, and Baylor zero and one.