clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Inductees into K-State Hall of Fame Announced

Ten Wildcat legends join the honored greats.

Strike up the band, time to party.
Strike up the band, time to party.
Scott Sewell-USA TODAY Sports

K-State announced ten new inductees into the school's athletic hall of fame today. The group will be officially inducted on January 29 and introduced at halftime of the game against Ole Miss at Bramlage that afternoon.

The Class of 2016:

Dr. Max Moss, basketball 1961-64

Moss was captain of the 1964 Final Four team, and helped lead the Wildcats to Big Eight titles in 1963 and 1964.

Steve Anson, baseball 1973-76

Anson was the Big Eight batting champion in 1974, and twice anchored K-State teams which broke school records for wins in a season. He went on to coach at Washburn for 35 years before his untimely passing last summer in a freak gardening accident.

Mitch Holthus, announcer 1984-96

A six-time Kansas Broadcaster of the Year during his tenure as the voice of the Wildcats, Holthus is now the radio play-by-play announcer for the Kansas City Chiefs.

Connie Teaberry, track 1989-92

Teaberry, who represented the United States in the 1996 Olympics, was a six-time All-American in the high jump -- four times outdoor and twice indoor. She also won two Big Eight indoor titles and holds K-State's third-highest jump all-time both indoor and outdoor.

Sean Snyder, football 1991-present

Two-time All-Big Eight and 1992 All-American punter, and current Assistant Head Coach, Special Teams Coordinator, and Director of Football Operations.

Martin Gramatica, football 1994-98

Two-time All-American, once consensus, and winner of the 1997 Lou Groza Award. Still holds the NCAA record for longest field goal without a tee at 65 yards.

Dawn Cady, volleyball 1996-1999

Currently the associate head coach at Iowa State, Cady was a second-team All-American in 1999, and helped lead K-State to their first-ever NCAA tournament appearance in 1996 -- the first of ten straight trips to the tournament.

Michael Bishop, football 1997-1998.

Legendary quarterback Bishop led the Wildcats to a 22-3 mark over two seasons, the 1998 Big 12 North championship, and their first #1 ranking in history.

Nicole Ohlde, basketball 2000-04

Consensus All-American, Big 12 Player of the Year and Naismith and Wooden Awards finalist -- all in both 2003 and 2004, as well as All-Big 12 in all four years of eligibility. She was also Big 12 Female Athlete of the Year in 2004; Ohlde's jersey was retired during her last home game.

Kendra Wecker, basketball 2001-05

Succeeded Ohlde as Big 12 Player of the Year in 2005, also earning All-American honors. Naismith Award finalist three straight years from 2003-05. K-State's all-time leading scorer, Wecker's jersey was also retired during her final home game.

There is not a sour note in this bunch. All ten Wildcats are eminently deserving of this honor, and January 29 can't get here soon enough.