clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kivett Named NCBWA Division I Preseason All-American

A huge preseason honor for K-State's senior second-sacker.

Probably the de facto front runner for Big 12 Player of the Year now, too.
Probably the de facto front runner for Big 12 Player of the Year now, too.
Jaime Valdez-USA TODAY Sports

Yesterday, the National College Baseball Writer's Association announced their preseason All-America team. K-State second baseman Ross Kivett earned the prestigious honor of being named to the first team, the only Wildcat represented.

Kivett, who turned down the opportunity to sign with the Cleveland Indians -- his "hometown" team -- in order to return to Manhattan and lead the Wildcats toward Omaha, is also the only Big 12 representative on the first team. Three other Big 12 players found themselves mentioned; West Virginia ace Harrison Musgrave was named to the second team, while TCU starter Preston Morrison and Texas outfielder Mark Payton earned third-team nods. There's a few familiar faces from K-State's regional and super-regional activities last year as well, with Oregon State starter Andrew Morre and outfielder Dylan Davis on the second team and Wichita State catcher Tyler Baker and outfielder Garrett Bayliff on the third team.

Big 12 Selections in bold
C Kyle Schwarber Indiana JR
1B Connor Spencer Cal-Irvine SR
2B Ross Kivett Kansas State SR
3B Taylor Sparks Cal-Irvine JR
SS Alex Bregman Louisiana State SO
OF Mike Papi Virginia JR
OF Casey Roche Pittsburgh SR
OF D.J. Stewart Florida State SO
DH Nick Backlund Mercer SR
UT Drew Reynods East Carolina SR
SP Tyler Beede Vanderbilt JR
SP Thomas Eshelman Cal State-Fullerton SO
SP Justin Garza Cal State-Fullerton SO
SP Aaron Nola Louisiana State JR
SP Andrew Morales Cal-Irvine SR
SP Carlos Rodon North Carolina State JR
RP David Berg UCLA SO
RP Nick Burdi Louisville JR
RP Jonathan Holder Mississippi State JR

Big 12 Selections in bold
C Mark Zagunis Virginia Tech JR
1B Zach Stephens Tennessee Tech SR
2B Oscar Sanay Cal State-Bakersfield SR
3B Joey Pankake South Carolina JR
SS Trea Turner North Carolina State SO
OF Skye Bolt North Carolina SO
OF Dylan Davis Oregon State JR
OF Brandon Downes Virginia JR
DH Kurt Wertz Towson SR
UT Ashton Perritt Liberty JR
SP Andrew Moore Oregon State SO
SP Harrison Musgrave West Virginia JR
SP Bryan Radziewski Miami (FL) rJR
SP Trent Thornton North Carolina SO
SP Grant Watson UCLA JR
RP Trace Dempsey Ohio State JR
RP Brian Miller Vanderbilt JR
RP Ross Mitchell Mississippi State JR

Big 12 Selections in bold
C Tyler Baker Wichita State JR
1B Michael Katz William & Mary SR
2B Ryan Lindemuth William & Mary SR
3B Kevin Kramer
Chesny Young
SS Aaron Attaway Western Carolina SR
OF Garrett Bayliff Wichita State SR
OF Mark Payton Texas SR
OF Chad Carroll James Madison JR
DH Chase Raffield Georgia State SR
UT Clinton Freeman East Tennessee State SR
SP Daniel Gossett Clemson JR
SP Cole Irvin Oregon SO
SP Ryan Kellogg Arizona State SO
SP Preston Morrison Texas Christian JR
SP Luke Weaver Florida State JR
RP Zech Lemond Rice JR
RP Sutter McLoughlin Sacramento State SO
RP Ryan Thompson Campbell SR
RP Josh Walker New Mexico SR

Only fifty-seven days remain until the season kicks off, and Kivett's selection should spark a lot of interest out at Tointon.