clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Announces Football Awards; K-State Players Honored

The great unveiling took ninety minutes, and the Wildcats walked away with a decent haul.

Look, don't ask me. I didn't vote.
Look, don't ask me. I didn't vote.
Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

We've had the AP awards and the media awards, but today's the day the Big 12's official awards were handed out, as voted on by the coaches. And K-State landed a couple of big ones:

Yet somehow, Mueller was beaten out for Defensive Player of the year by another defensive lineman. Look, the ways of coaches are mysterious and unfathomable to we mere mortals.

In all, K-State landed four players (in five spots) on the first team, and had a single entry on the second team, as you'll see below. Ten K-State players also received honorable mention.

In categories which aren't specifically offense or defense, Art Briles of Baylor was named Coach of the Year, while Texas Tech QB Baker Mayfield landed Freshman of the Year honors. Baylor led the way with 10 first-team selections, but had nobody on the second team; Oklahoma State had eleven players total, but only four on the first-team. K-State was, in fact, second in the league as far as first-team selections with five (although only four players). Oklahoma also had four first-team nods, while Texas had two. West Virginia, Texas Tech, and Iowa State each contributed one player to the first team; Kansas was shut out.

And with that, here are your 2013 Big 12 All-Conference Teams:

First-Team Offense
(bold indicates unanimous selection)
QB Bryce Petty Baylor JR
RB Lache Seastrunk Baylor JR
RB Charles Sims West Virginia SR
FB Trey Millard Oklahoma SR
WR Antwan Goodley Baylor JR
WR Tevin Reese Baylor SR
TE Jace Amaro Texas Tech JR
OL Cyril Richardson Baylor SR
OL Parker Graham Oklahoma State SR
OL Gabe Ikard Oklahoma SR
OL Spencer Drango Baylor SO
K Anthony Fera Texas SR
Offensive Player of the Year: Bryce Petty (QB), Baylor
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Cyril Richardson (G), Baylor
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Charles Sims (RB), West Virginia
Offensive Freshman of the Year: Baker Mayfield (QB), Texas Tech

It's a bit of a shock to see that both Finney and Ikard were honored with the first team, what with them both being centers and all. Not that we'll complain.

First-Team Defense
DL Jackson Jeffcoat Texas SR
DL Calvin Barnett Oklahoma State SR
DL Chris McAllister Baylor SR
DL Charles Tapper Oklahoma SO
LB Jeremiah George Iowa State SR
LB Eddie Lackey Baylor SR
LB Shaun Lewis Oklahoma State SR
DB Jason Verrett Texas Christian SR
DB Aaron Colvin Oklahoma SR
DB Justin Gilbert Oklahoma State SR
P Spencer Roth Baylor JR
Co-Defensive Players of the Year:
Jackson Jeffcoat, DE, Texas; Jason Verrett, CB, Texas Christian
Defensive Lineman of the Year: RYAN MUELLER (DE), KANSAS STATE
Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Dominique Alexander (LB), Oklahoma
Defensive Freshman of the Year: Isaiah Johnson (DB), Kansas

As with the AP, Kirby Van Der Kamp didn't grab first-team honors, to our surprise.

Second-Team Offense
QB Clint Chelf Oklahoma State SR
RB James Sims Kansas SR
RB Malcolm Brown Texas JR
FB Kye Staley Oklahoma State SR
WR Josh Stewart Oklahoma State JR
WR Jalen Saunders Oklahoma SR
WR Jaxon Shipley Texas JR
TE E.J. Bibbs Iowa State JR
OL Trey Hopkins Texas SR
OL Le'Raven Clark Texas Tech SO
OL Daryl Williams Oklahoma JR
OL Donald Hawkins Texas SR
KR/PR Josh Stewart Oklahoma State JR
K Michael Hunnicutt Oklahoma JR

In contrast to the AP, the K-State offensive lineman on the second team makes a little more sense. Huge difference in the second-team wide receivers, as none of the three "official" honorees made the AP squad.

Second-Team Defense
DL Cedric Reed Texas JR
DL Will Clarke West Virginia SR
DL Kerry Hyder Texas Tech SR
DL Chucky Hunter Texas Christian JR
DL Tyler Johnson Oklahoma State SR
LB Eric Striker Oklahoma SO
LB Caleb Lavey Oklahoma State SR
LB Ben Heeney Kansas JR
DB Daytawion Lowe Oklahoma State SR
DB Sam Carter Texas Christian JR
DB Jacques Washington Iowa State SR
DB Carrington Byndom Texas SR
DB Darwin Cook West Virginia SR
P (tie) Kirby Van Der Kamp Iowa State SR
P (tie) Nick O'Toole West Virginia SO

More big differences from the AP here, with three of the official defensive backs and two linebackers being absent from the AP nods. But hey, there's Kirby Van Der Kamp, finally.

Lastly, here are K-State's honorable mentions:

Tyler Lockett (Offensive Player of the Year)
Ty Zimmerman (Defensive Player of the Year)
Daniel Sams (QB)
John Hubert (RB)
Glenn Gronkowski (FB)
Cornelius Lucas (OL)
Tavon Rooks (OL)
Tramaine Thompson (KR/PR)
Travis Britz (DL)
Blake Slaughter (LB)

Objections, agreement, anger? Have at it, guys.