clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Missouri's Move to the SEC Is Official

The University of Missouri will join the Southeastern Conference on July 1, 2012, becoming the conference's 14th school. It's official this time, no more false starts and rumors.

With Missouri's defection, the Big 12 is officially down to 10 schools for next season, with Texas Christian replacing Texas A&M and West Virginia replacing Missouri. Regardless of your feelings about the way Missouri has handled this situation, it's never a good thing when a school who has been a member of some form of the Big 12 for many decades leaves.

So long, Missouri. Goodbye, Unholy Alliance. Vaya con dios, Border War. And worst, hasta la vista, Big 12 basketball tournament at Sprint Center.